Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In our household, we LOVE Christmas! Just take a look at all of our decorations…and that’s not even the whole house!

photo 3photo

photo 2photo 4

photo 1

And yes, we have two trees. The white light tree is our 11-foot Noble fir that was the first tree we picked on the first day of December. The colored light tree is a 6-foot Noble fir that we compromised on since we each prefer different colored lights. But I must say, our main tree is the MOST beautiful tree we’ve ever had…it’s going to be hard to top it next year!

In the spirit of Christmas, I have been wanting to have a little hot chocolate party with my nieces where we would make homemade hot chocolate and watch a Christmas movie. It just so happened that my nieces were staying with my in-laws, so I figured it would be the perfect weekend to get this going.

Everyone agreed that after I got off work on Saturday, it’d be fun to drink hot cocoa and watch Arthur Christmas (my pick).

With a fire burning, I started to make the hot chocolate from scratch. It is my favorite thing to make things completely from scratch…it is better for you (not all those preservatives), it tastes better, and it feels special.

And where else would I find a hot chocolate recipe than on Pinterest! This recipe is definitely a winner and I will be using it for hot chocolate for the rest of my life!

Hot Chocolate Recipe

To make hot chocolate:

Helpers? Check

photo 2

Then we put the sugar, cocoa powder, and hot water in the pot and boiled it for 2 minutes (left). After adding the milk, it turns a lighter color (right). I ended up having to change pots because I made way more than I thought, but who can complain about extra hot chocolate? Not me!

photo 1photo 3

In lieu of marshmallows, I made hand-whipped whipped cream. All you need is heavy cream, a little powdered sugar, a good whisk, and a lot of muscle. Luckily, I had all four!

 photo 5 photo 1

Now to set up…

photo 2 photo 1 photo 2A cup of hot chocolate wouldn’t be complete without some cookies and my husband’s specialty is chocolate chip.

photo 4 photo 5 photo 5 photo 3

Now we enjoyed our homemade hot chocolate and chocolate chip cookies (also from scratch). Everyone loved every bit of it! My cup and cookies are below…I just love Christmas mugs!

photo 5 photo 1 photo 3photo 1photo 4 photo 1photo 5photo 2photo 3 photo 2 

The dogs even got in on a little of the fun…note Asti hiding and hoping for some crumbs…

photo 2photo 3

After being totally satisfied with our dessert, we got comfy to watch Arthur Christmas!

photo 3 photo

There is nothing like family to make Christmas feel so special. Everyone LOVED the movie and we got to enjoy a special moment this holiday season. I’m sure you noticed I put “first annual” in the title. It is because I am hoping that this wasn’t the only time we do this…it was so fun and special that I am hoping to make it a tradition and to get more family involved. After all, spending quality time with those you love and making lasting memories is really more of what the Christmas season is about.

Hope you and your family enjoy this hot chocolate recipe as much as we did. There’s nothing like a cozy cup to keep you warm!

