Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

***First off, sorry for the confusion about posts if you got an email about a marriage challenge. Yes, I will be doing that, but it wasn’t supposed to be posted today! Oops…I’ve been trying to write drafts from my Kindle so I can write my ideas down when I get them, which will hopefully help me blog more. Somehow, the post published itself (or I pressed a button I wasn’t supposed to – the latter being more likely).***

On to today’s post – Christmas Cookies!

Better late than never, especially in regards to this post. With hosting the holiday and last-minute Christmas shopping, there was no time to be made for blogging. I barely had enough time to sleep and I MUST get 8 hours (7 hours at the least).

But the cookies were so pretty, even if it’s late, that I had to post pictures. The two main cookies that were hits were my grandmother’s Spritz cookies (from my grandfather’s side of the family) and Pizzelles (which my Kindle insists are Puzzles – darn autocorrect).

For some reason I’ve always been hesitant to give out recipes. I don’t know if it’s because it feels like it wouldn’t be as special if everyone can make it or going along with that, it wouldn’t be such a special gift to give if everyone could make it for themselves. That being said, I always feel like when you make something yourself, it can turn out and taste differently, in a good way…maybe it’s the love that is put into it from you. On that note, I’m going to post my recipes, but you have to have a Pizzelle maker for the Pizzelles (which I borrowed from my mom – Cuisinart brand and very very good) and you have to have a cookie press to make the Spritz cookies as they are traditionally made (mine given to me by my mom, passed down – no brand name).

Here’s some pictures I took during the process…

The Spritz…

photo 2 photo 3 photo 1photo 2photo 3photo 4

The Pizzelles…

photo 5photo 1photo 2

Spritz Cookies

  • 2 cups shortening
  • 1.5 cups sugar
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 5 cups flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • dash of salt
  • 2 tsp. almond extract

Cream shortening, sugar, almond, and egg yolks together. Mix dry ingredients together and add to wet. After, put dough in cookie press and bake at 350 degrees until lightly browned. Allow to cool on rack.

Pizzelles (Cuisinart recipe – use with the machine)

  • 1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 tsp. vanilla/anise/almond extract

Place on setting 3 to preheat. Mix dry ingredients together. Beat eggs and sugar, add butter, extract, then the dry ingredients. Bake to desired color – leaving in longer if like more brown (I prefer them darker in color).

ENJOY!

