Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Oh wow, today was a day. From the moment I stepped into work, it has been a non-stop, hectic, barely controllable day and I feel like this photo of the day blog post is going to be a little longer than I had hoped.

For those of you who don’t know me or don’t know me well, I am an RVT (Registered Veterinary Technician) and I work at an animal hospital. The day to day grind is filled with fairly routine pet issues and procedures, but some days everything collides into chaos.

Today was that day. Angry cat after angry cat after angry cat…angry dog after angry dog after angry dog. Scared pets, hissing pets, painful pets, anxious pets, lots of walk-in sick pets, last minute visits, medication after medication to be filled…and of course, most of that happened within the first couple hours of my shift and it just continued, and continued, and continued.

A late lunch was a much needed break, an inspirational passage that I had read earlier this morning gave me a much needed mental boost, and a warm, homemade soup after a long day warmed my soul. Hence my photo. I felt today was one of those days that deserved a photo collage of everything that helped me make it through the craziness.

The top left is my lunch – the spicy chicken and roasted sweet potatoes – that my husband made. It’s pretty much the only meal that I was able to eat all day and it gave me energy to get through the rest of it. Thanks honey! The top right is my dinner – a bowl of my homemade tortilla soup with chicken and avocado. It was just the type of warm hug I needed. The bottom is part of a daily reflection that was the day’s reading out of Pope Francis,’ “Through the Year with Pope Francis – Daily Reflections.” How apt this passage was today and I found myself whispering Jesus’ name in my mind multiple times, calling on strength and endurance.

photo

