Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

After a long day at work and a stressful one at that, soup always sounds warm and cozy and comforting. My specialty happens to be Tortilla Soup and when I texted the hubby and was given the OK!, I decided that’s what we were having for dinner Friday night.

As I’ve said before, I usually use other people’s recipe and this one is no different, but I swear when I make it, it tastes a whole lot better with the love I put into it. Maybe it’s just me…

The recipe belongs to a great chef, Emeril Lagasse, and it’s a recipe that is in the Fernandez Family Recipe book for as long as I can pass it on. The ingredients are easily found at the grocery store, the process is simple, and it doesn’t take a lot of time – what a perfect recipe after a never-ending work day.

Emeril’s Favorite Tortilla Soup

photo 5photo 4photo 3photo 2

Notes:

I like my soup blended. I’m not into the chunky variety. I have a hand blender that I use and it makes it very easy, as you just have to place it in the pot you’ve been using. What you do want to remember is to blend it before you add in the chicken. I’ve made that mistake before and it just adds more time (unnecessarily) and more work.

On to the chicken. I like to cut chicken breasts into small chunks. After I’ve blended the soup (already with the cilantro), I add the chicken and cook for another 10-15 minutes (depends on how large the chunks of chicken are). Then you can ladle this delicious soup into your bowls!

We like to use some additions to the soup, added separately – avocado pieces, shredded cheese, sour cream, and tortilla strips. In light of trying to be a little healthier, we’ve forgone the tortilla strips and I did not put sour cream in mine. It still tastes absolutely delicious!

On Food Network, the recipe includes a seasoning blend and a chipotle crema. I have made these before and it’s really up to you if you’d like to put it all together or just do it as I’ve described above. I use a whole jalapeño and sometimes add in the seeds, so it comes out a little spicier – just about all I can handle and enough to clear the nostrils.

Hope you and your family enjoy this recipe.

HAPPY EATING!

