Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’m not sure what possessed me to buy two (not just one, but TWO) heads of cabbage, but there they were, sitting in my refrigerator, unused. I will say that they keep very well in a refrigerator that is kept slightly below the recommended temperature, as we keep ours, so they’ve lasted long enough for me to come across a wonderfully easy and delicious recipe.

I first saw a recipe on Pinterest, but since I didn’t want to search through all of my pins (and there are A LOT!), I just searched “cabbage in the oven recipes” and came across one from Martha Stewart….who else?

ROASTED CABBAGE WEDGES 

from the website Martha Stewart (from the magazine Everyday Food, April 2010)

This is the EASIEST recipe and other than burning it in the oven, I can’t see many ways to mess it up.

!. Take each head of cabbage and cut it into 1″ thick slices. The ends are a little wonky, but do what you have to do and make sure you don’t cut yourself.

2. Place the wedges on a baking sheet. Rub with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

3. Put them in a 400 degree Fahrenheit oven and roast for 40-45 minutes (until tender and when edges are golden).

*NOTE: Martha’s recipe is much more measured than what I did and mine turned out great. You can alter the seasoning to your preference. You could also try different seasonings and see what happens!

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4 photo 5

 

It’s definitely not the most beautiful thing in the world once it’s all done, but it was SO good. I couldn’t stop eating it. After having it for lunch the last couple of days, I can say, with much certainty, that it is way better right out of the oven than it is reheated. It’s still good, but it doesn’t have that buttery, freshly roasted flavor. Plus, the crispy parts aren’t crispy anymore after it’s gone into the refrigerator.

I hope the next time you wonder why you bough a head of cabbage, you remember this recipe. Honestly, I think I bought the cabbage because it was on sale and I had an extra corned beef left from St. Patrick’s Day and I had notions of recreating that meal, which never happened. From this point on though, I will never boil cabbage again. This is the only way I’m going to be serving cabbage in my household – whenever I buy it again, that is.

