Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In my family, we LOVE Easter. Not only is it a great day to get together with family, but it is, dare I say, the biggest Catholic celebration day (even above Christmas). It is filled with so much hope, love, gratitude, selflessness, and celebrates Christ dying for our sins and rising to give us everlasting life. How much more lovely can a day get? Oh, and in good old Southern California, it was about 80 degrees, sunny, and thank goodness, had a little breeze.

Okay, I’m done with all my Catholic stuff…now, on to the brunch!

Unfortunately, I failed miserably in getting pictures of everything I made, and believe me, I made a lot. Most of the pictures I use in future posts are going to be after the fact, so don’t judge me too harshly.

The spread:

1. The Ultimate Breakfast Bake (from Pinterest)

2. Paleo Carrot Cake with Real Cream Cheese and Pineapple Frosting (from Pinterest and Food Network)

3. Glazed Ham (from Pinterest)

4. Cookie selection (Chocolate Chip Cookies, Paleo Chocolate Coconut cookies)

5. Paleo Snickerdoodle Cupcakes (from online search)

6. Crepe Bar – regular and paleo crepes with assorted toppings

7. Paleo Chicken Salad (from Pinterest)

8. BLT Salad (from Pinterest)

9. Caprese salad with Balsamic reduction

10. Melon fruit salad

11. Deviled eggs Paleo-style (from Pinterest I think)

12. Pancakes (Pinterest recipe that has become part of our favorite family recipes)

A lot, isn’t it? I know, it felt like it. I slept really great Sunday night.

I will say that this is a lot better than our past holiday meals, as in, it’s a lot less than what we’ve actually served before. We still have leftovers, but we have much smaller amounts and more variety. And you know that when you have leftovers from a big holiday party, you start to get sick of the food you have to choose from. But when it comes to leftovers, it’s nice that you work so hard for the party and then you don’t have to cook for a week (at least when there’s only two in your household). It’s definitely an added side benefit to hosting a holiday.

I’m going to go through the recipes that I got off of Pinterest and online and write about each one, reviewing it and giving my tips. All the recipes I made were hits, but some more than others. I also started compiling a “Party Friendly Foods” list so that we can streamline our party dishes and hopefully spend much less time prepping for and cooking for a party. This will be happening in posts to follow.

Hopefully this will help some people who see the pictures on Pinterest/websites and wonder if the recipes really work, if they are really as good as the picture looks, and wonder if it’s even worth making for their family. I know I always wonder all those things when I’m searching for something new and delicious to make.

Aside from the recipes, we had tons and tons and tons of fun. We chatted, we talked over each other, we played lawn games, we drank, we laughed, we hugged, and we took a few photos.

Let’s start with the beautiful Easter flowers my mom got for me…instead of buying me candy that I am trying not to eat. Just in case you weren’t aware, candy isn’t Paleo-friendly, diet-friendly, figure-friendly, or teeth-friendly. It pretty much just tastes great, looks pretty, and makes me want to binge-eat it when I haven’t had it in a while. I have a love-hate relationship with it, if you couldn’t tell.

 

photo 4

A rare photo of my husband and I together…we are usually too busy or he’s usually too much of a social butterfly for us to get a picture together.

photo 2

 

My gorgeous mother and I. I swear we didn’t plan our outfits…it just happened. It’s that psychic connection we have.

10014696_10152845092039988_32939990177368352_n

Boys being boys…or men being men. Not sure which is more apt.

10154491_10152845585189988_8294139411694430703_n

Group photo! Aren’t we so good-looking? Modest too.

photo 3

And fun lawn games…at least it didn’t go over the fence, as many of the accessories do. Good think we have a fruit picker!

photo 1

 

As one of our guests told us – It’s THE BEST Easter party we’ve ever had. The food was great; the company couldn’t have been better; we enjoyed every minute of it! To many more Easters just like this one…may they all be blessed with family, friends who’ve become family, good food, good company, laughs, stories, and most importantly, lots of love!

HOPPY EASTER!

