Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Another holiday has passed (this time it was Memorial Day) so I am starting another juice cleanse. I didn’t particularly eat everything in my sight, but I did eat rich foods that I don’t normally include in my diet, plus our yearly vacation is coming up soon and I’ve got to be bikini ready!

I found a book that had plenty of good reviews on Amazon – while I don’t strictly go by that, it helps, and I’m always willing to give something a try! The book is called “10-Day Green Smoothie Cleanse” by J.J. Smith. I purchased the Kindle version found HERE at Amazon.

A couple differences from the Jus by Julie Juice Cleanse I did a couple months ago:

1) I will be making all of the drinks myself, at home –  much cheaper, made daily = super fresh

2) They are actually smoothies, not juices – more filling, more nutrients

3) I’m allowed to add protein powder to my smoothies (and I threw in some Spirulina)

4) I’m allowed to eat snacks throughout the day – fresh veggies like carrots, celery, cucumber; a small handful of raw nuts/seeds, hard-boiled eggs

5) It lasts 10 days (not 3 or 5)

6) I bought mostly ORGANIC produce – important when detoxing

I know 10 days is a long time, but I think because healthy snacks are allowed, it won’t really be all that bad, but I’ll keep you updated.

Since today is the first day, I’ll show you what my whole day will look like!

I made my smoothie, using the DAY 1 recipe from the book and split it into three containers that I will drink from throughout the day. I packed some fresh cut veggies, a little raw unsalted almond butter, and some pumpkin seeds. And when all else fails, I will drink my ginger herbal tea. It looks like a lot to “eat” to me so I’m looking forward to it!

photo 2

RECOMMENDED PRODUCT:

I have been drinking a detox tea way before I ever did any juice cleanses, but this particular cleanse happens to recommend drinking a liver detoxifier every morning. Since I have lots on hand, I will be following that recommendation. A detox tea that I have come to enjoy is Traditional Medicinals’ Organic Roasted Dandelion Root Tea. As you can see in the picture below, it is herbal, organic, and caffeine-free. I usually purchase it from Amazon so HERE is where you can find it.

photo 1

P.S. I’m not sure if I have to keep repeating this, but just to be safe (because my friend does this on all her reviews), I was not paid/reimbursed/influenced by these companies/people/products that I try/recommend/review. These opinions are ALL my own, are very truthful, and I don’t recommend anything that I don’t still use, drink, eat, read, etc. I come by these ideas on my own and if a company wants me to a try a product, then they can expect honesty from me – good or bad. So that’s my spiel.

