Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

9780804139878

It’s very interesting how life works. I suppose if you are one of those people who is very open and accepting to the universe, you probably already know that what you put out into it, you get back, sometimes twofold (for better or worse). I do know this, as I’m an avid researcher and learner, but I forget this very simple idea…a lot.

Let’s get vulnerable for a minute – I have been feeling unsettled for a little while. I wouldn’t say unhappy because I have a life I’ve always wanted. I’d say more like unfulfilled. I have this inner need to DO something. I’m not sure what it is or even where to start but I know I’m not living up to my potential. Enter “Living with Intent” by Mallika Chopra.

This book came at just the right moment. I think the universe heard my plea for some guidance.

From the very beginning of the book, Mallika is highly relatable and her story could be anyone’s story. Even though she’s the daughter of Deepak Chopra, she still finds it difficult to be present in her life and has to work to not let her daily life overwhelm her. Sound familiar?

Intent may be a foreign concept to you and you may know nothing about yoga or meditation or Eastern ideas, but as you go through the book, she makes it very easy to add just a touch of these concepts to your life or overhaul it completely!

The book is like a diary or journal of her daily life with sprinkles of lessons throughout and nicely summed up, easy-to-follow instructions at the end of each chapter about all the things she has learned and recommends putting into practice in your own life. She details examples in her own experiences that show how she feels out of control or not living up to her potential and then gives the reader ways to change that.

The journey isn’t a one-size-fits-all journey, as she states many times. What works for her and others around you may not be what works for you. The point is to have a starting point and work your way up from there. Isn’t starting the hardest part anyway, especially if you don’t know where to start from? That’s my problem at least. I get so overwhelmed with all the things I’d like to accomplish or the things I’d like to change that I end up accomplishing/changing nothing. And then I’m back at square one.

I think her big message is that any change you make is a change for the better. Even if it’s not some grand event or you stay as unknown as you started, you are changing your life positively. We should all be more kind to ourselves (as well as to each other – which couldn’t be more apt than now) and love ourselves more. Negative self-talk only ever derails us and keeps us down. Our thoughts have so much power over our lives, how our days go, and also over those around us so keep them encouraging, positive, and most of all, loving. (Just a note: This is very difficult for me to do as I am very critical and negative toward myself and I find that it then gets applied to those around me. So you see, we all have things we need to change and no one is perfect and ever gets to the point where they don’t have to improve upon or learn anything new. Even the great yogis or Buddhist monks who practice all the points in the book daily never stop practicing and improving.)

If you’re feeling stuck, unfulfilled, unhappy, unhealthy, unfocused, overwhelmed, too busy, too tired, or too anything, pick up this book and really commit to yourself and your wellbeing.

Namaste.

Living with Intent at Penguin Random House

DISCLAIMER:

I received this book for free from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

