Tags

, , , ,

9780451499578

It’s summer and I was in need of a good book to read. A departure from my normal cookbook/inspiration reads, I found the summary of this novel, “Here and Gone,” by Haylen Beck, to be intriguing and something that sounded right up my alley.

From the very beginning, this book captures you with its quickly unraveling story of a mother who ends up in a small town and finds her children missing, with no information as to how or why. Everything after that is full of suspense and keeps you glued to the book to find out if the children were actually there and if so, where they went. Was it the mother? The father? Is it a conspiracy? Why her? Why them?

There are characters to root for, characters you want to strangle yourself, and others that make you quite frustrated. The plot twists and turns as new information is given, new characters are introduced, and as the story of this mother unfolds. It also makes you want to hug your children (if you have them) a bit closer.

I could not put this book down and finished it in a day, which is saying something when you have a toddler to take care of. I was on the edge of my seat hoping for the best, but preparing for the worst for this mother and her children. If you like suspense and thrillers, you won’t be disappointed. I look forward to reading Beck’s other novels.

Here and Gone @ Penguin Random House

DISCLAIMER:

I received this book for free from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

